Meet the Governors

Members of the Local Governing Body are drawn from parents, school staff, and the community. They oversee the management and leadership of the school. 

Governors are appointed for a four-year term of office.  As well as the Local Governing Body (LGB), there are two other governor committees: Finance Committee and Admissions Committee.

The Local Governing Body and Finance Committee meet six times a year each; the Admissions Committee meets three times a year.

The School Governors

Tim Howes       Parent Governor and Chair of Governors
Richard Riordan        Headteacher 
Ky Capel       Staff Governor
Angela Cook       Co-opted Governor
Helen Dawes       Co-opted Governor and Vice-Chair of Governors
Helen Della Nave       Parent Governor
Janet Fletcher       Co-opted Governor
Lisa Gardner       Co-opted Governor
Kimberley Jones       Co-opted Governor
Philip Rowe       Co-opted Governor
James Shepherd       Co-opted Governor
Denise Tween       Co-opted Governor
      two co-opted governor vacancies
Cathryn Butler       Clerk to Governors

For more information about our governors, and the work they do, please visit the Governing Body Information page

If you are interested in becoming a governor at the school, please contact the Clerk to Governors [Cathryn Butler]:

 If you would like to contact the Chair of Governors, please write to Mr Tim Howes, c/o Portishead Primary School or  please email the Clerk on for the attention of Mr Tim Howes, Chair of Governors.